Appleford-Luck trophy

Each year the Rye and Rosebud football clubs contest for the Appleford-Luck trophy. Named in honour of two great warriors Nick Appleford and Trevor Luck.

There are many similarities to their carers and their involvement with their respective clubs and both were coincidently local builders. They enjoyed the interclub rivalry always baiting each other when the clubs met. The Appleford /Luck Cup remains a tribute to the great contributions both men made to local football and is strenuously contested each year.

Nick Appleford needs no introduction to those associated with the Rye Football Club. A boundary umpire at the tender age of 14, club stalwart and then President Clarrie Jennings suggested Nick should go and play for Rosebuds U17s as Rye didnt have the numbers to field a side in 1955. In 1956 saw Nick return to his beloved Rye to establish himself as one of the all time greats of the Rye Football Club. After 308 Senior games, 3 best and fairest awards and 3 premierships under his belt, Nick would go on to become President for 16 years., Nick remained an active committeeman until he past away on June 15th 2007 after a courageous battle with cancer.

Fifty-One end of season football trips stand as a testament to Nicks strength and resolve, over 50 years commitment to the local football community, has seen Nick held in the highest regard by all who knew him (unless of course you were with the opposition). Nick is a life member of Rye F.C and the MPNFL, he has also received an Australian Sports Medal in 2000 for his work in community football. It is fitting that Nick Appleford is remembered each year when we play for the Appleford/Luck cup.